top of page


VRPI governance include both active and retired rail professionals, nationally-recognized experts across a variety of transportation-related fields, and individuals who have forged transportation public policy at both the state and regional levels of government.


Michael Testerman

Founder and President, Virginia Association of Railway Patrons; Vice-Chair, RAIL Solution; Treasurer, Virginians for High Speed Rail; Council of Representatives (Virginia), National Association of Railroad Passengers


Meredith Richards, President

Mark Perreault, Vice President

John J. Beall, Jr., Secretary

Danny Plaugher, Treasurer

Ken Briers, At large 

William "Bill" Ingram, At large

Trip Pollard, At large


John J. Beall, Jr. Former Senior Assistant Attorney General (Chief) of Virginia, Transportation Section 

Kenneth A. "Ken" Briers Board  of Directors, National Association of Railroad Passengers; Former Railroad Operations Analyst, Parsons Transportation Group; Former locomotive engineer in the Northeast Corridor

Dwight Farmer Former Executive Director, Hampton Roads Planning District Commission & Hampton Roads Transportation Planning Organization

David Foster Executive Director, RAIL Solution; Former Executive, Norfolk Southern Corporation; Former Officer and Director, Salem Historical Society; Helped establish the O. Winston Link Museum in Roanoke

William "Bill" Ingram

Danny Plaugher Executive Director, Virginians for High Speed Rail and Virginia Transit Association; Named one of Style Weekly Richmond’s Top 40 Under 40 in 2011

Trip Pollard Senior Attorney and Director of Land and Community Program, Southern Environmental Law Center; Author on topics of Transportation and Land Use

Hon. Meredith Richards, PhD Founder and Chair, CvilleRail and The Piedmont Rail Coalition; Former Charlottesville Vice-Mayor


Vickie Badger

Richard L. "Dick" Beadles Former President, RF&P Railroad; Founder, VRPI & Virginians for High Speed Rail

Hon. Whittington "Witt" Clement Partner, Hunton & Williams; Former Virginia Secretary of Transportation and Member, Virginia House of Delegates

Steve Ditmeyer

W. Clifford "Cliff" Dunn Council of Representatives (Virginia), National Association of Railroad Passengers; CEO, Modern Machine and Tool

John Hekman Rear Admiral, USN (Ret.); Executive Director, Virginia War Memorial Educational Foundation

George E. Hoffer, PhD Economist and Professor Emeritus in the School of Business, Virginia Commonwealth University; Nationally recognized as a foremost transportation economist

Joel Nied

Walter R.T. Witschey, PhD Research Professor of Anthropology and Geography, Longwood University; Former Director, Science Museum of Virginia

Barry Bishop Ex Officio - Virginians for High Speed Rail

bottom of page